Sharechat Logo

Botherway to chair market regulator board

Wednesday 26th May 2010

Text too small?

Commerce Minister Simon Power today announced the Establishment Board of the new integrated market conduct regulator, the Financial Markets Authority (FMA).

The nine members are: Simon Botherway (chairman), Shelley Cave, Andrew Harmos, Neville Harris, Frank McLaughlin, Paula Rebstock, Bruce Sheppard, Scott St John, and Mariëtte van Ryn.

It will be an independent Crown entity which will consolidate the powers and functions of the Securities Commission, some of the functions of the Registrar of Companies and the Government Actuary, and some of the regulatory roles of NZX.  

The Establishment Board will govern the operational establishment of the FMA.

"The members of the board are recognised leaders in their fields and bring a wealth of experience and expertise in financial markets to the board.

"They provide the right mix of skills needed to set up such a vital organisation, including a strong understanding of effective governance and strategy, understanding of organisational change and design, commercial and legal nous, and particularly significant experience and expertise in financial markets.

The board will, among other responsibilities, set the FMA's strategic direction, develop a statement of intent, organisational structure, and work plan to give effect to the strategic direction, and work with entities whose functions will transfer to the FMA. It will report to Mr Power on a regular basis.

  General Finance Advertising    

Comments from our readers

No comments yet

Add your comment:
Your name:
Your email:
Not displayed to the public
Comments to Sharechat go through an approval process. Comments which are defamatory, abusive or in some way deemed inappropriate will not be approved. It is allowable to use some form of non-de-plume for your name, however we recommend real email addresses are used. Comments from free email addresses such as Gmail, Yahoo, Hotmail, etc may not be approved.

Related News:

Telecom will offer CEO and senior managers performance equity grants to boost profits
Former Fonterra executive Alison Andrew appointed to head Transpower
MRP director Miller, CFO Meek go trawling for cheap shares
Rob Fyfe to leave Trilogy board, seeks new senior role in NZ
David Ross appears at District Court hearing, remanded until Aug.29
Crown drops charge against ex-SCF finance chief Graeme Brown
Postie Plus appoints No 1 Shoes executive Binns as new CEO
Pumpkin Patch CEO Neil Cowie resigns to take job with rival retailer
George Alexander Louis
Time to Move Before You Get Caught in the Meridian Watershed