Sharechat Logo

Award started in 1992

Friday 7th February 2003

Text too small?
The award was introduced in February 1992, relating to the previous year, to recognise the outstanding contribution of an individual to the country.

Past winners (awards made the following year):

* 1991: Charles Bidwill, Auckland businessman

* 1992: Sir Tipene O'Regan, Maori leader

* 1993: Richard Nottage, foreign affairs secretary

* 1994: Sir John Anderson, National Bank CEO

* 1995: Grant Cameron, Christchurch lawyer

* 1996: John Hart, All Blacks rugby coach

* 1997: Hugh Fletcher, industrialist

* 1998: Judith Aitken, educationist

* 1999: Alan Duff, writer

* 2000: Ralph Norris: banker/business lobbyist

* 2001: Howard Paterson, entrepreneur.

  General Finance Advertising    

Comments from our readers

No comments yet

Add your comment:
Your name:
Your email:
Not displayed to the public
Comments to Sharechat go through an approval process. Comments which are defamatory, abusive or in some way deemed inappropriate will not be approved. It is allowable to use some form of non-de-plume for your name, however we recommend real email addresses are used. Comments from free email addresses such as Gmail, Yahoo, Hotmail, etc may not be approved.

Related News:

NZ dollar holds gains; focus on domestic inflation data
MARKET CLOSE: NZ shares slip as fears over slowing Chinese growth weigh; AMP slumps
NZ dollar rises after heartening Chinese data
Suspect company faces liquidation after director dies
Foreign investors face maximum penalty for breach after $13M purchase
Napier Port share offer $2.27-$2.60; will raise net $110 million
Crucial carbon reduction recommendations due tomorrow
NZ Super Fund to invest in $300M local hotel venture
Infratil-backed Longroad Energy secures Texas wind farm finance
Peters to meet top US administration hawks in Washington

IRG See IRG research reports